Being Free

Life’s not easy being free.
I wish someone had said to me.

I see the world, and have my fun.
No roots to plant when on the run.

An easily blown over tree.
Yes, life’s not easy being free.

Things aren’t just as they seem.
No highway-life American Dream.

Still only smiles here for me.
Though life’s not easy being free.

I just move on and live my life.
Through long hours, pain and strife.

One long month, turns into three.
And life’s not easy being free.

It’s just demand for even more.
Through mountains, deserts, seas and shore.

And all these things, I get to see.
Still life’s not easy being free.

So now I bid, to thee goodnight.
And ride to sunset, out of sight.

Yet no one would I’d rather be.
Life’s not easy being free.

Posted on 08/20/2011, in Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment