A Litte Side Project

If I had to distill my existence down to a single cause, desire, or motivation it would be knowledge.

This in mind, I spend much of my time consulting with others, expanding my perception and learning all I can about the world around me.  But such efforts don’t resolve the interpersonal conflicts, struggles, opinions and ambitions that consumes all of us.

So to solidify these things in history, I started writing a philosophical work, a modern “Summa Theologica” for myself.  However, the very things I said, my self-contradictions and my inability to stop ranting and restructuring my views drove me to question everything I “knew.”

I had to find another way to observe, relate and deduce what truly composes my being.

So I started to look for a medium in which I could better myself and explore my thoughts and mind.  While doing so, I remembered the artistic work of Kristen Bell who gave a daily reminder of things that one should be thankful for.  It was short and sweet, while full of carefree innocence and playfulness.

Based on her design, I decided that whatever I would do would be a daily (or near daily) endeavor to be carefree, playful, open and honest and explore whatever depths of my existence I chose to explore.

 

With this in mind I decided that I should write a poem every day(ish) for a year.  They will be personal, philosophical, and brutally raw.  Only minor edits will be made, and I will try to openly address any questions about them.  So far, I already have three, and so I’ll start with them here today.

Posted on 08/20/2011, in Administrative. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment